Hurricane Douglas moves through Hawaiian Islands

Tracking the Tropics

This Saturday, July 25, 2020 satellite image made available by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration shows Hurricane Douglas approximately 400 miles east of Hawaii at 8:20 a.m. HST (2:20 p.m. EDT). (NOAA via AP)

More WFLA Tracking the Tropics

MOBILE, Ala. (WKRG) — Per the 4 pm CDT (11 AM HST) update from the National Hurricane Center, Hurricane Douglas is now a category 1 hurricane with sustained winds of 85 mph and a central pressure of 987 mb.

It is currently bringing damaging winds, flooding and dangerous surf to the Hawaiian Islands. The Hurricane Hunters have flown into Douglas today and have found that the hurricane is staying pretty well put together but also that the central pressure has risen slightly. Hurricane Douglas is forecast to weaken slowly over the next few days as it heads into higher wind shear, but is expected to stay at hurricane strength as it passes near or over the islands this evening. Because the islands are so small, any wobble in the track could result in the worst weather being in different places.

The center is forecast to pass close to the islands from Maui to Kauai through tonight. A hurricane warning is in effect here.

After Douglas passes near/over the islands tonight and tomorrow morning, it will continue west and gradually weaken.

LATEST STORIES:

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories