Nick Saban wins Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant Coach of the Year Award

Top Stories

FILE – At left is a Sept. 1980 file photo showing Alabama football coach Paul “Bear” Bryant during a college football game. At right, in a Jan. 6, 2018, file photo, Alabama head coach Nick Saban speaks during media day for the NCAA college football championship in Atlanta. Saban’s sixth national title, and fifth in nine years, was different and not just because it put him in a tie with Alabama icon Bear Bryant for the most by any major college football coach. (AP Photo/File)

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. (WKRG) – The American Heart Association announced tonight that Alabama head coach Nick Saban has been named the recipient of the 2020 Paul “Bear” Bryant Award.

The award recognizes the country’s top college football coach for his contributions both on and off the field. The award is selected after all bowl games have concluded and is voted on by the National Sports Media Association.

Saban, who won the Bryant Award in 2003 at LSU, joins former Alabama head coach great Gene Stallings (1992) as past Crimson Tide award receipts. This season, Saban led the Crimson Tide to a perfect 13-0 record after securing his sixth national championship in 14 seasons at Alabama on Monday night, thanks to a 52-24 victory over Ohio State. He has coached more games (86) as the Associated Press’ No. 1 team than any other active head coach.

The Paul “Bear” Bryant Award annually recognizes the country’s top college football coaches for their contributions both on and off the field, making the sport better for athletes and fans alike by demonstrating grit, integrity and a winning approach to coaching and life. The award is the only college coaching honor selected after all postseason bowl games and the National Championship have been played.


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

SEC Schedule

SEC Twitter

SEC Twitter

Trending Stories