Six sports legends in the city of Mobile were inducted into the Hall of Fame in a special ceremony Tuesday night.

One of those inductees is one of our own, Sports Director Randy Patrick under a special recognition category.

A Sports Director at WKRG-TV since 1991, Patrick began his broadcasting career at WABF Radio in Fairhope in 1979. In 1980, he moved to WKRG Radio and then on to WKRG-TV in 1988. During his tenure, he has garnered dozens of awards for broadcasting excellence, including the John Harris Lifetime Achievement Award by the Mobile Press Club in 2005, the John Finley Award in 2012 and numerous AP and UPI awards.

He has been named Mobile’s favorite sportscaster 14-straight years in the annual Mobile Press-Register’s Reader’s Choice Awards. Lagniappe Mobile has named Randy Mobile’s top sportscaster for 13-straight years and Sportscaster of the decade in 2010. In 2013 the United States Sports Academy honored Randy with the Academy Awards of Sports Distinguished Service Award.

Randy has been a Heisman Trophy voter since 2013. Past President of the Mobile Sports Hall of Fame, Patrick has also been a valuable community leader having served as a board member and volunteer for numerous charitable agencies along the Gulf Coast.

Patrick’s career has also enabled him to provide coverage to area sports fans of many of the biggest events in sports, including four straight BCS National Championship games, numerous bowl games, NCAA Basketball Tournament contests and top golf tournaments, 17 seasons of Southern League Baseball and Mobile’s premier sporting events from the Azalea Trail Run to the Senior Bowl, an event he has covered for 34 straight years. He has hosted Iron Bowl specials dating back to 1987. In addition to his sports coverage, Patrick has also provided viewers with award-winning coverage of special events and storms during times of crisis along the Gulf Coast.

Also inducted last night, WNSP radio host Lee Shirvanian.

The 2018 class also includes Don Hultz, Leon Lett, Juan Pierre, Jack Robertson, Amy Chapman Kleinschrodt and Jake Peavy.