Troopers in Northwest Florida are still working to solve two deadly hit and run crashes and they’re warning everyone about the penalties for leaving the scene.
Last year, there were 98,225 hit-and-run crashes in the state of Florida. There were 1,704 in Escambia County, 293 in Santa Rosa County and 655 in Okaloosa County.
“This is one of those crimes where this could be the only thing on a person’s record because they made a stupid decision at one point and they weren’t thinking,” Major Warren Fast said.
State troopers are calling for drivers to not leave the scene because it is illegal and the penalties will make it worse.
“Leaving the scene of a crash with injuries is a felony,” Major Fast said. “Drivers leaving the scene of a crash with a fatality could be sentenced to 30 years in prison along with a $10,000 fine.”
State troopers need your help solving two deadly hit-and-run crashes. One of them happened about 30 feet north of the intersection of Pensacola Boulevard and West Ensley Street. A pedestrian was hit by a 1992 to 1994 Ford pickup truck on January 19, 2015 just after 1 a.m.
The other unsolved case is from New Years Day 2016 just after midnight when a driver struck a man on a bicycle near Mobile Highway and Green Street.
“Crime Stoppers is 100 percent anonymous so that means you never have to give your name, you will never have to appear in court,” said Deputy Melony Peterson who’s the Crime Stoppers Coordinator at the Escambia County Sheriff’s Office.
If you can help in these investigations, the number to call is 433-STOP (7867).