STOCKHOLM (AP) – The Latest on the Nobel Physics Prize (all times local):

The Nobel Physics Prize 2017 has been awarded to three scientists for their discoveries in gravitational waves.

The three are Rainer Weiss of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Barry Barish and Kip Thorne of the California Institute of Technology.

The German-born Weiss was awarded half of the 9-million-kronor ($1.1 million) prize amount and Thorne and Barish will split the other half.

The Nobel Physics Prize honors big discoveries involving materials often too small to be seen by the naked eye.

This year’s Nobel medicine prize went Monday to three Americans studying circadian rhythms – better known as body clocks: Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young.