Faith Time: Separation of Church and State

Faith Time

MOBILE, Ala. (WKRG) — Pastor Wayne Miller with Grace Lutheran Church in Mobile joins us. Here’s a look at our conversation:

Anchor: With the 4th of July just passing us by, we wanted to talk about separation of church and state. As a pastor, how do you interpret what that means?

Guest: One of the greatest freedoms we as Americans were founded on was the free establishment and exercise of religion. It’s a blessing to be able to live in a place where my government doesn’t tell me what or who to worship, what to believe, what not to believe. It’s important today to still appreciate the two realms that we live in. One realm is the state and the other is the church. As a pastor, I live in both realms. I’m a Christian first and then I’m a voting citizen of the United States.

Anchor: The First Amendment kicks off forbidding Congress from establishing a religion, why is that significant?

Guest: Yes, the subject of the first amendment isn’t prohibiting the church from doing something, rather the government is prohibited. The First Amendment says, “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion or prohibiting the free exercise of”. The First Amendment actually imposes more of a one-way restriction to prevent the state from interfering with the church, not so much to prevent the church from impacting the state. When we better appreciate how the church can support the state, the separation of church and state might be better referred to not as a “wall” but as a “short fence” or a “line in the sand”. The two can intersect with one another, and we see that in our court cases, in our conversations with others, it’s not so intended to keep them completely separate, but definitely emphasizes keeping the state out of the church.

Anchor: Where does the concept of “separation of church and state come from”?